<<< century overview

B  I  B  L  I  O  T  H  E  C  A    A  U  G  U  S  T  A  N  A




Upton Sinclair
1878 - 1968



T h e   A u t h o r

Upton Sinclair, American novelist, essayist, playwright, and socialist, was born in Baltimore, Maryland, in 1878. His family was extremely poor, and he funded his college education by writing stories for newspapers and magazines. As a writer Sinclair gained fame in 1906 with the novel «The Jungle», a report on the dirty conditions in the Chicago meat-packing industry. The book won Sinclair fame and fortune, launched a government investigation of the meatpacking plants of Chicago, and led to the implementation of the Pure Food and Drug Act in 1906. Sinclair's productivity continued through his life: he produced more than 100 books. At the age of 24 he joined the Socialist Party. In 1934 he run for the governor of California, but failed on election. In the 1940s Sinclair reached again his reading audience with his immense roman fleuve «World's End», consisting 11 contemporary historical novels. Their hero Lanny Budd, the illegitimate son of a munitions tycoon, travels the world and becomes involved in international political intrigues. «Dragon's Teeth» (1942), which dealt with Germany's descent into Nazism, won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 1943. After the war he started correspondence with Albert Einstein and Robert Oppenheimer to provide details for a novel about the development of the atomic bomb. Sinclair died in Buckeye, Arizona, in 1968.

W o r k s

Courtmartialed (Adventure story, 1898)
Saved by the Enemy (Adventure story, 1898)
The Fighting Squadron (Adventure story, 1898)
A Prisoner of Morro (Adventure story, 1898)
A Soldier Monk (Adventure story, 1898)
A Gauntlet of Fire (Adventure story, 1899)
Holding the Fort (Adventure story, 1899)
A Soldier's Pledge (Adventure story, 1899)
Wolves of the Navy (Adventure story, 1899)
Springtime and Harvest (Novel, 1901)
The Journal of Arthur Stirling (Novel, 1903)
Off for West Point (Novel, 1903)
From Port to Port (Novel, 1903)
On Guard (Novel, 1903)
A Strange Cruise (Novel, 1903)
The West Point Rivals (Novel, 1903)
A West Point Treasure (Novel, 1903)
A Cadet's Honor (Novel, 1903)
Cliff, the Naval Cadet (Novel, 1903)
The Cruise of the Training Ship (Novel, 1903)
Prince Hagen (Novel, 1903)
Manassas: A Novel of the War (Novel, 1904)
The Jungle, First Edition (Novel, 1905/1988)
The Jungle (Novel, 1906)
A Captain of Industry (Nonfiction, 1906)
The Overman (Novel, 1907)
The Industrial Republic (Nonfiction, 1907)
The Metropolis (Novel, 1908)
The Money Changers (Novel, 1908)
Good Health and How We Won It (Nonfiction, 1909)
Samuel, the Seeker (Novel, 1910)
Love's Pilgrimage (Novel, 1911)
The Fasting Cure (Nonfiction, 1911)
Plays of Protest (1912)
     The Naturewoman (Play, 1910)
     The Machine (Play, 1910)
     The Second-Story Man (Play, 1909)
     Prince Hagen (Play, 1909)
Sylvia (Novel, 1913)
Damaged Goods (Novel, 1913)
The Sinclair-Astor Letters (Nonfiction, 1914)
Sylvia's Marriage (Novel, 1914)
The Cry for Justice (Novel, 1915)
King Coal (Novel, 1917)
The Profits of Religion (Nonfiction, 1918)
[Jesus on the Soap-Box] (Fiction, 1918)
Jimmy Higgins (Novel, 1919)
The Brass Check (Nonfiction, 1919)
100%. The Story of a Patriot (Novel, 1920)
The Book of Life: Mind and Body (Nonfiction, 1921)
The Book of Life: Love and Society (Nonfiction, 1922)
They Call Me Carpenter (Novel, 1922)
The Goose-Step (Nonfiction, 1923)
Hell (Play, 1923)
The Goslings (Nonfiction, 1924)
The Consequences of Land Speculation (Article, 1924)
The Millennium (Play, 1924)
The Pot Boiler (Play, 1924)
Singing Jailbirds (Play, 1924)
Mammonart (Nonfiction, 1925)
Bill Porter (Play, 1925)
Letters to Judd,
     An American Working Man (Nonfiction, 1926)
Oil! (Novel, 1927)
Money Writes (Nonfiction, 1927)
Boston (Novel, 1928)
Mountain City (Novel, 1930)
Mental Radio (Nonfiction, 1930)
Roman Holiday (Novel, 1931)
The Wet Parade (Novel, 1931)
American Outpost:
     A Book of Reminiscences (Autobiography, 1932)
Candid Reminiscences (1932)
Upton Sinclair Presents William Fox (Nonfiction, 1933)
I, Governor of California,
     and How I Ended Poverty (Nonfiction, 1933)
Upton Sinclair Presents William Fox (Nonfiction, 1933)
The Book of Love (1934)
EPIC Plan for California (Nonfiction, 1934)
Depression Island (Play, 1935)
I, Candidate for Governor,
     and How I Got Licked (Nonfiction, 1935)
CO-OP (Novel, 1936)
The Gnomobile (Novel, 1936)
Wally for Queen (Play, 1936)
What God Means to Me (Nonfiction, 1936)
The Flivver King (Novel, 1937)
No Pasarán! (Novel, 1937)
Our Lady (Novel, 1938)
Little Steel (Novel, 1938)
Our Lady (Novel, 1938)
Terror in Russia? (Nonfiction, 1938)
Marie Antoinette (Play, 1939)
Expect No Peace (Nonfiction, 1939)
Letters to a Millionaire (Nonfiction, 1939)
World's End (Novel, 1940)
Between Two Worlds (Novel, 1941)
Dragon's Teeth (Novel, 1942, Pulitzer Prize)
Wide is the Gate (Novel, 1943)
The Presidential Agent (Novel, 1944)
Dragon Harvest (Novel, 1945)
A World to Win (Novel, 1946)
A Presidential Mission (Novel, 1947)
Upton Sinclair Anthology (1947)
Limbo on the Loose (1948)
One Clear Call (Novel, 1948)
A Giant's Strength (Play, 1948)
O Shepherd, Speak! (Novel, 1949)
Another Pamela (Novel, 1950)
The Enemy Had It Too (Play, 1950)
A Personal Jesus (Nonfiction, 1952)
The Return of Lanny Budd (1953)
What Didymus Did (Novel, 1954)
The Cup of Fury (Nonfiction, 1956)
It Happened to Didymus (Novel, 1958)
My Lifetime in Letters (Letters, 1960)
Affectionately Eve (Novel, 1961)
The Autobiography of Upton Sinclair (1962)
Sergei Eisenstein and Upton Sinclair:
     The Making and Unmaking of
     «Que Viva Mexico» (Letters, 1970)
The Coal War (Novel, 1977)

A p p e n d i x

History Page: Upton Sinclair and the EPIC Plan.
Upton Sinclair biography with numerous links.
<<< century overview